Comfortable with Uncertainty

When I was studying at NYU’s Tisch School of the Arts, one of our required readings for the Atlantic Acting School was Pema Chödrön’s Comfortable with Uncertainty. This book provides short readings on how to deal with the challenges and ever changing landscape of our daily lives.

At the time I thought “What could I possibly need this book for? Let alone, how does this apply to acting?”

Oh, I wrong I was. And boy am I thankful I read the book.

This summer I was planing to attend an Opera program in Sulmona, Italy, where I would be singing my first operatic role – I was over the moon! Not only do I love the opera that we were going to perform, I knew that it would be the first time my family in Italy would be able to come and hear me sing. I was dreaming of a wonderful Italian holiday.

But as I learnt from Pema Chödrön – nothing is solid.

A couple of weeks ago, I received notice that the program had been cancelled due to lack of applications, the low Canadian dollar and fears over the current political climate in Europe.

So – what next? Applications for other summer programs had already closed and I was now staring at a long Toronto summer sans gelato.

Thankfully two opportunities fell into my lap. An offer to return to study at Tafelmusik Baroque Summer Institute and  a late acceptance into the Vancouver International Song Institute‘s 2 week Latin Song Program with Isabel Bayrakdarian.

I think Marilyn Monroe was on to something when she said ” Sometimes good things fall apart so better things can come together”.

 

 

Leave a Reply

